Technical Advisory Committee



Professor Rhys Jones
Professor Rhys Jones AC is a Companion of the Order of Australia “For eminent service to mechanical and aerospace engineering, and to education as an academic, researcher and author, particularly in the area of aircraft structural mechanics, corrosion repair and airworthiness”. This is the highest honour that can be given to an Australian Citizen.

Until 1993 he was employed as the Research Leader (Aircraft Structures) in the Australian Defence Science and Technology Organisation (DSTO). He joined Monash as the Chair Professor of Mechanical Engineering in 1993. Prof Jones retired from Monash at the end of December 2017. The Vice Chancellor subsequently appointed Rhys as an Emeritus Professor at Monash University.
Professor Jones is internationally acknowledged for his pioneering work in aircraft sustainment and extending the operational life of both Military and Civilian aircraft. He is acknowledged as a co-developer, together with staff at DST, of the “cubic rule” which is widely used by the RAAF to assess crack growth in operational aircraft, and is built into both the F/A-18 Structural Assessment Manual and the P3C (Orion) Repair Assessment Manual.


Dr Richard Hannink
Richard has extensive experience, of working in industry, academia and the CSIRO, in characterising microstructure-property relationships of metals, ceramics and cermets and their relationship to industrial applications and performance. Richard started his career in John Lysaghts (Newcastle, Australia), moving to Richard Thomas and Baldwin (UK), the Cavendish Laboratory in Cambridge University, where he completed a PhD in Physics before moving to CSIRO Tribophysics (Melbourne) in 1973.

Richard was an integral part of the team at CSIRO who developed transformation toughened zirconia, now used extensively in the manufacturing and mining industries and as medical prostheses. Richard is currently an Honorary Fellow at CSIRO Manufacturing and on the Victorian Committee of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering along with his other project interests.


Dr Airlie Chapman
Airlie Chapman received the Ph.D. degree from the William E. Boeing Aeronautics and Astronautics Department at the University of Washington, Seattle in 2013. She received the M.S. degree in Mathematics from University of Washington (2013) and the M.S. degree and the B.S. degree from the University of Sydney, Australia (2008 and 2006). She is currently a lecturer in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Melbourne.

Dr. Chapman was awarded the College of Engineering Dean’s Fellowship at the University of Washington and is a two-time recipient of the Amelia Earhart Fellowship. Her research interests are multi-agent dynamics, networked dynamic systems, data-driven control and graph theory with applications to robotics and aerospace systems. She has recently authored the book “Semi-Autonomous Networks” published by Springer in 2015.


Professor Ivan Cole
Prof Ivan Cole combined extensive leadership and research experience. His is currently Enabling Capability Director for Advanced Manufacturing and Fabrication and Fabrication at RMIT. Prior to this he spent 25 years at CSIRO and held positions including Program Director – High Performance Metal Industry and Acting Chief and Acting Chief CSIRO Manufacturing and Materials Technology.

He has nearly thirty years’ experience and an internationally recognized leader in the field of life prediction, prognostics and design and fabrication of engineered structures specializing in Computational Materials Modelling (incl. geographical information systems), impact of and adaptation to climate change, Sensor Systems, Corrosion Science and Protective Coatings. His work has included the development of IT systems for damage prognostics, IT systems to predict flood damage and design guides to minimize such damage, the development of protective coatings for metals and the development of green materials and micro and nano-sensing.


Professor Raman Singh
Professor Raman Singh’s primary research expertise is in corrosion and corrosion mitigation of steels and light alloys. His interests include the relationship of Nano-/microstructure and Environment-assisted degradation and fracture of metallic and composite materials, and Nanotechnology for advanced mitigation of such degradations. He has also worked extensively on use of advanced materials (e.g., graphene) for corrosion mitigation, stress corrosion cracking, and corrosion and corrosion-mitigation of magnesium alloys (including for the use of magnesium alloys for aerospace, defence and bioimplant applications).

Prof Singh’s professional distinctions and recognitions include: Editor of two books (one on Non-destructive Evaluation of Corrosion (Pub: Wiley) and other on Cracking of Welds (Pub: Woodhead/CRC Press)), Editor-in-Chief of a journal, member the Editorial Boards of a few journals, leader/chairperson of a few international conferences and regular plenary/keynote lectures at international conferences, over 215 peer-reviewed international journal publications, 15 book chapters/books and over 100 reviewed conference publications,
and several competitive research grants (that includes 4 Discovery, 7 Linkage and one ITRH grants of Australian Research Council).


Professor Emad Gad
Emad is the Dean of Engineering, School of Engineering within the Faculty of Science, Engineering and Technology. Prior to this appointment he was the Chair of the Department of Civil and Construction Engineering at Swinburne University of Technology. Earlier he was an Associate Professor at Melbourne University and Research Scientist at CSIRO.

Emad is a civil engineer with extensive experience in structural dynamics, residential construction, structural connections, experimental techniques and finite element modelling. His applied research has contributed to the development of several standards and codes of practice. In addition to his teaching and research contributions, he has completed numerous consulting contracts for local and multinational clients.

He is Chair of the Board of the Australian Engineered Fasteners and Anchors Council (AEFAC), Co-Editor of the Australian Journal of Structural Engineering, appointment member of the Victorian Government Building Advisory Council (BAC), Director on the Board of the Australian Steel Institute (ASI) and Fellow of Engineers Australia.



© Titomic - all rights reserved
Connect with Titomic: